The Burnt Hills Fire District is a public corporation established for the purpose of providing fire protection and to respond to certain other emergencies. The New York State Constitution recognizes that fire districts have certain characteristics of general purpose municipal corporations. The fire district has the power both to incur indebtedness and to require the levy of taxes. The fire district is an almost completely autonomous political entity; it has its own elected governing body of five Commissioners, each elected for a five (5) year term.

Unless otherwise noted, the board meets the second Tuesday of every month at 7:00 PM (note time change) at the Burnt Hills Fire Station 2, located at 330 Charlton Rd, Ballston Spa. Meetings are open to any resident of the Burnt Hills fire district.

You may contact the district by phone at (518) 885-9322 ext. 204,
by email at district@burnthillsfd.com, or by mail at Box 315, Burnt Hills, NY 12027.

Current Commissioners

Les Bonesteel- Chairman (2025)

Michael Fowler (2024)

Chris Altieri (2023)

Tim Szczepaniak (2026)

Wayne Bennett (2027)


District Secretary – Candy Merchant

District Treasurer– Cheryl Stewart

BHFDDistrict (1)